Question: What Are The Four Major Regions Of The Stomach?

What are the 5 regions of the stomach?

The stomach is divided into 5 regions:The cardia is the first part of the stomach below the esophagus.

The fundus is the rounded area that lies to the left of the cardia and below the diaphragm.The body is the largest and main part of the stomach.

The antrum is the lower part of the stomach.More items….

How is the abdomen divided into 9 regions?

divided into 9 regions by two vertical and two horizontal imaginary planes….Surface anatomyepigastric region (epigastrium)left hypochondrium (LHC)left lumbar region (left flank)left iliac fossa (LIF)suprapubic (hypogastric) region.right iliac fossa (RIF)right lumbar region (right flank)right hypochondrium (RHC)More items…

What does the stomach do simple?

The stomach secretes acid and enzymes that digest food. Ridges of muscle tissue called rugae line the stomach. The stomach muscles contract periodically, churning food to enhance digestion. The pyloric sphincter is a muscular valve that opens to allow food to pass from the stomach to the small intestine.

What acid kills harmful bacteria in the stomach?

hydrochloric acidYour stomach lining also secretes hydrochloric acid, which creates the ideal conditions for the protein-digesting enzymes to work. The potent hydrochloric acid kills bacteria, protecting your body from harmful microbes which can enter your body in food.

What are the three main parts of the stomach?

The stomach has three anatomical regions:cardiac, which contains mucous secreting glands (called cardiac glands) and is closest to the oesophagus.fundus, the body or largest part of the stomach which contain the gastric (fundic) glands.pyloric, which secretes two types of mucus, and the hormone gastrin.

What digestion happens in the stomach?

During digestion, muscles push food from the upper part of your stomach to the lower part. This is where the real action begins. This is where digestive juices and enzymes break down the food that you chewed and swallowed. It prepares it to provide your body with energy.

Does your stomach absorb nutrients?

Stomach acid helps to further digest or break down food and nutrients like protein. Not much gets absorbed directly in the stomach, except alcohol. Absorption of nutrients mostly occurs in the small intestine.

What are the four main functions of the stomach?

The core function of the human stomach is as an aid to diges- tion. The four key components of gastric digestive function are its function as a reservoir, acid secretion, enzyme secre- tion and its role in gastrointestinal motility.

What is the main function of the stomach?

Stomach. The stomach is a hollow organ, or “container,” that holds food while it is being mixed with stomach enzymes. These enzymes continue the process of breaking down food into a usable form. Cells in the lining of the stomach secrete a strong acid and powerful enzymes that are responsible for the breakdown process.

What is the stomach lining called?

The mucosa is the inner layer (stomach lining). It contains glands that produce enzymes and acid, which help digest food. The submucosa attaches the mucosa to the muscularis. The muscularis is a layer of muscle.

What is inside your stomach?

The abdomen contains all the digestive organs, including the stomach, small and large intestines, pancreas, liver, and gallbladder. These organs are held together loosely by connecting tissues (mesentery) that allow them to expand and to slide against each other. The abdomen also contains the kidneys and spleen.

What are the abdominal regions?

The nine regions are smaller than the four abdominopelvic quadrants and include the right hypochondriac, right lumbar, right illiac, epigastric, umbilical, hypogastric (or pubic), left hypochondriac, left lumbar, and left illiac divisions. The perineum is sometimes considered to be the tenth division.

Which organ is located in all four quadrants of the abdomen?

small intestineThus, the small intestine is located in all four quadrants. The liver occupies most of the right upper quadrant. The right ovary and tube lie in the right lower quadrant, whereas the left ovary and tube lie in the left lower quadrant. The stomach is in the left upper quadrant.

What is considered upper abdomen?

Organs in the left upper quadrant include the stomach, spleen, left portion of the liver, main body of the pancreas, the left portion of the kidney, adrenal glands, splenix flexure of the colon, and bottom part of the colon.

What are the main divisions of the stomach?

The main divisions of the stomach are the following:Cardia. The cardia is the portion of the stomach surrounding the cardioesophageal junction, or cardiac orifice (the opening of the esophagus into the stomach). … Fundus. The fundus is the enlarged portion to the left and above the cardiac orifice.Body. … Pyloric antrum.